January 23, 2019

I’m currently listening to HG Wells’ War of The Worlds as an audiobook — the first time I have read’ this book in years¹.

In my experience it is worth going back to books you’ve read before because there is always something new to discover. What has struck me most strongly this time is just how prescient Wells ideas were in this book written in 1897.

Not simply the science fiction of death rays (he describes something equivalent to a high powered laser), armoured killing machines and poison gas but the vision of indiscriminate industrial warfare with soldiers strolling from tranches towards their death. Written just 17 years before the great’ war.


[1] Michael Sheen makes a very good Richard Burton’.

Books


Previous post Audio This is a post that lists my current hi-fi setup. Rega P5 with TT PSU. 15″ MacBook Pro (streaming source) via an Airport Express. Linn Genki CD Next post Annual Email Backup I just realised I hadn’t archived last year’s email in MailSteward. Even though I am confident with FastMail and trust them, it’s still good to have