April 27, 2011

Other people have written more eloquently and knowledgeably than I ever could on the subject of Skeuomorphism and torn paper syndrome. I just want to highlight one example of this that really annoys me - the torn-off calendar pages in Apple’s MobileMe when viewed using a web browser.

Torn paper

What’s wrong with this picture?

See those little fragments left from pages torn-out from this simulated calendar?

There are plenty of thoughtful design touches in Apple’s user interface design where they actually add some value. This sort of simulation of the analogue world is pointless. It doesn’t make the user experience any better and can only serve to annoy people who notice these things.

Software


Previous post Pinhole Photography I’ve taken photos as a keen amateur ever since I was a kid, starting with a Zenit E camera and a ‘darkroom’ in my parents’ wardrobe. Since then, Next post Microsoft Word’s Teeny Tiny Cursor Using Microsoft Word you many occasionally experience a problem where the cursor shrinks to a teeny tiny fraction of its normal size when you are