January 3, 2013

A recent discussion with @helgeg on app.net about pigs trotter sausages inspired me to see if I could convert some of my family members over to the pleasure of eating offal. I grew up in a house where we ate offal such as oxtail, liver and tongue nearly as often as we ate the better cuts of meat. My mother even prepared ox tongue from scratch — not the sweetest smelling start to a meal but a delicious conclusion.

My own kids (and wife too if I’m honest) are not the best at trying new food that is unusual or comes from the less salubrious parts of a beast. I decided to start my campaign with the oxtail, a dish I’ve rarely cooked. After a couple of experimental runs I finally won over 66% of my victims with the following recipe which serves 4.

Ingredients

Method

  1. Trim the excess fat from the oxtail pieces.
  2. Brown batches of the oxtail in a frying pan and set them aside to drain off.
  3. Once all the pieces are browned add the chopped leek, carrot and celery to the pan and fry for 5-10 minutes.
  4. Add the port to the pan and boils this to deglaze the pan.
  5. Transfer the drained oxtail and vegetables to a large casserole and add the stock, white wine, , pasata, tomatoes, star anise, mace and bay leaves.
  6. Cover and cook the mixture in the oven at around 150°C (fan) for around 4 hours.
  7. Add the remaining root vegetables for one hour.

Once the root vegetables have softened and the oxtail falls off the bone easily the meal is ready to serve. That remaining ½ bottle of dry white wine might just come in useful at that point. Apparently serious carnivores like to recover some of the marrow from the oxtail bones at this point — I’ll leave it to you to decide if this is a step too far; it is delicious though!

Food&Drink


Previous post 2012 Festive Five Photo by David Denicolò Once again I’ve stolen the concept of a ‘Festive 5’ from a friend who’s been compiling a list for some years now. The idea Next post Foghorns Just Photo by Tom Parnell Where I grew up on the coast of Fife I would often hear the Inchkeith Island foghorn booming out in the night. What I remember