January 12, 2013

Foghorn

Photo by Tom Parnell

Where I grew up on the coast of Fife I would often hear the Inchkeith Island foghorn booming out in the night. What I remember of that sound is that it was like hearing a muge mythical creature, trapped and lamenting in the dark stormy night.

With Britain’s foghorns now defunct it’s a sound my children will probably never hear¹.


[1] It has to be said, the fact they’ve been superseded by better, safer, technology for navigation is a good thing.

History


Previous post Offally good food A recent discussion with @helgeg on app.net about pigs trotter sausages inspired me to see if I could convert some of my family members over to the Next post Modern Art I have a difficult relationship with a lot of modern art. Much of the time I simply don’t get it and I don’t know how to approach a work when it’s