August 30, 2016

This year we spent our family holiday in the Cotswolds and the the city of St Davids in Wales. One thing I noted during the break was that I immediately felt physically better than when I was working.

I’m not someone who suffers from stress at work but I do have to take prescription medicine for high blood pressure and reflux. While I couldn’t speak to my blood pressure level, the symptoms of my reflux were much less evident than usual.

This got me thinking of the importance of making breathing space’.

East Banqueting House

I think of the idea of breathing space as a pause for relaxation.

The photograph above was taken in the house we stayed in while at Chipping Campden, and one of my greatest pleasures there was to open those doors, sit on the steps, admire the view and enjoy reading a good book while sipping a glass of malt whisky with my family around me.

Back in the real world’ it’s much harder to achieve this state with all the competing demands for time. However, having felt the benefits, I’m determined to try to cultivate daily habits that make time for regular breathing space.

One of my favourite words has always been desultory’ as coupled with the idea of pottering about and doing things for pleasure. My aim is to allow some breathing space by cultivating some or all of these activities every day:

And breathe…


Edit: At least once each year I should also walk barefoot.

Family


Previous post A rant... After someone posted this video on Facebook I took a look at this ‘product’ to see what it is all about. This company are after $500,000 to fund Next post Stuff I’m slowly turning into my father, carrying all sort of junk and paraphernalia wherever I go. It used to be called stuff but now we glorify it and