July 9, 2016

Cicret Bracelet

After someone posted this video on Facebook I took a look at this product to see what it is all about. This company are after $500,000 to fund the development of this bracelet during 2016 —and they have nearly achieved it! I can’t believe they are even advertised on Amazon who generally sell things that really exist.

I’m calling snake oil’ on this for a number of reasons. If anyone ever receives a product that looks like this and works as shown I will eat my hat. Why?

And now some physics…

In this video the projected image should actually bounce off at a very shallow angle with only a faint image visible at other angles. It’s not going to MAGICALLY reflect up from your skin and into your eyeball.

Oh, by the way, you’re going to have an even harder time reading the display if you happen to have black or brown skin. And you hairy guys? Sorry you’re screwed too.

This end result is that light hitting the user’s arm furthest from the bracelet must be at least 50 times duller than just beside the bracelet. This is another good reason why cinemas and meeting rooms don’t project stuff down the screen. Keeping the projector at right angles to the screen means the light at the centre and the edges has to travel about the same distance so it’s uniformly bright.

So there are 10 reasons I am confident I won’t have to digest my headwear and Cicret’s backers will never get anything back from their so-called‘investment’.

Design


Previous post Brexit The image above is what was written on my daughters’ school whiteboard today, showing the reaction of our kids to the referendum vote to leave the Next post Breathing Space This year we spent our family holiday in the Cotswolds and the the city of St Davids in Wales. One thing I noted during the break was that I