March 14, 2012

I like the idea that when I buy stuff, I follow these principles:

  1. Make sure it’s well-designed from good sustainable materials and I will use it for a long time.
  2. Whoever made it should be paid a fair wage for where they live.
  3. I can’t make it myself for less money than it cost to buy it.

I appreciate it’s not always to tick all these boxes but I would generally prefer to achieve as many as possible.

Writing


Previous post A English country house with an industrial chimney Some years back when we was driving through Oxfordshire, heading to visit friends in Reading, I glimpsed a building with this incongruous Next post The Wound and The Gift I started reading this book under the assumption it was going to be a ‘straight’ biography of George Mackay Brown, not realising that, while it has