Saint Steve

Who?

I was born in the last century and am a husband, father and engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland. I get excited by books, music, walks and beaches, stoicism, and malt whisky. I’m particularly proud of the things my children do as they spread their wings. I use the pronouns he and him and include that here because things that were once thought of as strange and new often turn out to be better.

When I was a student I played a lot of Xevious in the student union and occasionally completed all 16 areas, looping back to Area 7’. This still makes me proud enough to highlight it here!

While I am an atheist, my brother is a Catholic priest.

Why?

Why is this site called Sulluzzu’ and what does it mean?

My wife is Maltese and sulluzzu is her favourite word in Maltese. It means hiccups and that seems to fit with how (ir)regularly this site is updated.

I write things here because writing for a reader, whether real or imagined, helps me to distill these thoughts down to their essence.

Fun

I have been a keen photographer since I was a teenager and my first camera was a Russian-made Zenit E while my darkroom was a wardrobe in my parents’ bedroom. Since then there have been many cameras through to my most recent, Leica Q2 Monochrom. Until early 2021 I used film cameras but decided to simplify my equipment and the Leica Q2M gives me the closest experience to the purity and constraint of using a film camera loaded with Tri-X film.

I’ve been a member of the SMWS (Scotch Malt Whisky Society) for longer than I can remember. My favourite whisky is Springbank but I also recently invested in two casks of Ardnamurchan whisky that will be ready to drink in ten seven years.

I particularly enjoy reading, averaging a book per week, and try to maintain a list of all the books I’ve ever read.

Design

Whenever I buy something even remotely expensive I get far too interested in the design of that thing. I doesn’t seem to matter if it’s a washing machine, a bicycle bell or a bag.

There are certain things that I particularly enjoy:

I have favourite fonts and will spend far too much time — and money — choosing the right fonts for documents. This site uses a font called Averia Gruesa Libre the average of all the fonts on Dan Sayers computer.

About