February 9, 2013

Our Scotland Flag

I took my oldest daughter to her first six nations match at Murrayfield today — Scotland vs. Italy. It turned out to be a good choice for a first match; there were a few tries scored, including Scotland scoring a try from their own 22-metre line.

I have very fond memories of going to Murrayfield with my own father from quite a young age; me cheering for Scotland and him cheering for England. I was always really embarrassed that he sang the national anthem and seemed to find the whole thing quite moving. Now as I’ve got older I find myself becoming more emotional in general and as the stadium sings Flower Of Scotland, especially the second verse, traditionally sung by the crowd without musical accompaniment I usually get something in my eye’.

It’s interesting as you grow up’ that you start to see patterns that weren’t there when you were younger. Each generation is a new layer that’s similar but just a little bit different from, and hopefully a little better than, the one below it.

Family


Previous post And speaking of modern... Here’s something that has remained ‘modern’ ever since 1955. Next post Best of British I enjoy drinking beer and especially trying beers that I haven’t tasted before, and particularly ones with exciting flavours rather than mainstream