December 27, 2011

Boy reading in the snow

This quote from an article from Devir Kahan at The Geek’s Companion site rings true with me.

“If we are only reading things that interest us, we’ll never find anything new. We’ll never try something a little bit outside of our comfort zone, and we’ll never grow as humans.”

When I’m choosing books I try to go through a cycle where I read:

This is one reason why book groups can be such a good source of new material. They force us outside our comfort zone and provide a motivation to finish reading the books.

Writing


Previous post You don’t take a photograph, you make it Looking back over 2011, one thing that strikes me is how much I rediscovered film photography over the course of this year. It started with the Next post Spring Heeled Jack I want to see Jack as a villain in Doctor Who sometime… He wore a large helmet; and his dress, which appeared to fit him very tight, seemed to her