April 6, 2016

I watched SBRE Browns latest video review of the Nakaya Portable Writer in Heki Tamenuri with some interest. I have a Nakaya fountain pen too, one that I bought two years ago when flush and it has struck me that Stephen has not reviewed many Nakaya pens.

Nib

What became clear in his review today is that he admires the craftmanship of the pen’s Urushi enamel but considers the brand over-hyped and over-priced.

Over the last few years I’ve come to a similar conclusion myself. I really enjoy using my Nakaya pen; especially with its elastic’ nib, but have come to appreciate that many other fountain pen makers produce pens that are just as good as Nakaya. I would confidently state that an Omas pen or an Aurora pen are easily the equal of a Nakaya.

As my Maltese father-in-law would say, that’s why all the cow gets sold!”

Design


Previous post Elbow grease I’ve been polishing up the family’s shoes todays after a few days away, with too much football played wearing sensible shoes in muddy fields and Next post Gilgamesh This is a book I always thought I should read. A little like the Great Unfinished Iliad Translation™, bought in the last century when I lived in