October 13, 2017

There’s this whole online community dedicated to EDC (Every Day Carry). They review and discuss pocket knives, tools, flashlights, wallets, bags and a whole host of other things. There are even sites and forums where one can see EDC collections laid out beautifully for photographs.

Now I am as guilty of this as the next man. And they are men. I do have a sneaking suspicion that wrapping it all up in a philosophy is just to feel more comfortable about turning into our dads, walking around with pockets full of crap.

Today when I was thinking about my most important EDC I decided it was this item.

My EDC

Its a small gold band that has no purpose or utility. It sits on a finger of my left hand and it’s just a symbol.

My second most important EDC item is a tool. I don’t always carry the same one and they don’t last long―a few days or weeks at most.

It’s a book.

Personal


Previous post Hobonichi Planner Way back in late 2014 I wrote about my first year using a Hobonichi Techo planner. This year, as I ordered my fifth Techo, I thought it was Next post We will remember them Today is remembrance day. The Third Battle of Ypres (31 July — 10 November 1917) concluded 100 years ago yesterday and has come