June 8, 2013

Earlier this week I was struck by Matt Gemmell writing a moving article about an incident in his life that spawned a need to write and leave a legacy.

Eleanor and candle

What troubles me is a compulsion to contribute something enduring, that can speak of me when I’m not there. It’s difficult to do that in my line of work (making software).

This is a common dilemma and so many great writers have written about it in so many better ways than I ever could…

“Everyone must leave something behind when he dies . . . Something your hand touched some way so your soul has somewhere to go when you die . . . It doesn’t matter what you do, so long as you change something from the way it was before you touched it into something that’s like you after you take your hands away.”
― Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

Sitting here on a Saturday morning I’m writing this in my notebook after biopsies taken for a probably-not-but-could-be serious condition that’s pretty common in middle-aged men. Cancer. I find myself thinking; what will I leave behind?

I’m getting to that age that the chance of a serious illness is increasing but basically I’m fine.

Thinking back to the legacy that I was left by my parents (it was certainly not financial) it was the experiences that led to me getting an education. Like Mr Kinnock, I was encouraged to learn and was the first member of my extended family to ever have the chance to go to university. I’ve benefited enormously from my upbringing.

What do I want my legacy to be? I want my kids to be fine without me. Confident, creative, individuals with some good memories of their parents. Probably nothing more than that because I think coping with loss is a sign of a good relationship. For the rest — financial security security, happiness — we’re in Philip Larkin territory.

Family


Previous post A Point Of View I’ve been thinking this week that much of what we ‘share’ about ourselves via social media actually reveals very little about us. Just occasionally Next post P1 Pen Hacking Some time ago I backed the Kickstarter project for the P1 pen; a better body for the Pilot Hi-Tec-C / G-Tec pen, made from anodised Aluminium. I was