July 26, 2015

I remember reading about Pete Docters concept for a film about emotions when I read the excellent book Creativity Inc written by Ed Catmull and thinking it was a very beguiling idea, one that was quite different from many Pixar films up to that time.

Today I went to see the family and it is absolutely marvellous — clever, layered, funny and sad. A film that plays with the viewer’s emotions and I will certainly be reflecting on it over the next few days.

What I find interesting is that with films like this and Up we are watching the Docter and the early Pixar team mature in their story telling, reflecting the concerns of older people and parents when compared with those early films such as Toy Story and Bug’s Life.

Film


Previous post Ink & Graphite “My two fingers on a typewriter have never connected with my brain. My hand on a pen does. A fountain pen, of course. Ball-point pens are only Next post A Shepherd’s Life I recently read the book ‘The Shepherd’s Life: A Tale of the Lake District’ by James Rebanks for my book group. I wrote this review to post on the