December 26, 2023

Each year1 I impress myself with pulling together so many meal components all at the same time for Christmas. I find this to be surprising as I work without recipes, a schedule or using a timer.

  1. Turkey
  2. Stuffing
  3. Red cabbage
  4. Gravy
  5. Roast potatoes
  6. Glazed carrots
  7. Yorkshire pudding
  8. Chestnut and bacon sprouts
  9. Stuffing balls
  10. Pigs in blankets.

And there’s Christmas pudding and homemade custard to plan in there too.


  1. The one exception that I am not allowed to forget was 2020 when I poured the lovingly curated’ gravy down the sink drain by mistake.↩︎

Family


Previous post The 52 things I learned in 2023 This list is inspired by Tom Whitwell’s list of 52 things he learned in 2020. Everything listed here must include a citation or link to a reference Next post Books of the year I was tidying-up my list of books I read this year and thought it worth summarising my five favourites. There are **no spoilers below. In reverse