July 17, 2010

I recently posted on Twitter that I had shot the same photograph using three different cameras and was surprised at how well my iPhone performed. I should say at the outset I’ve never been a great fan of the iPhone camera but I think in the right conditions it can produce some very pleasing photographs. With this particular combination of subject and lighting I think it’s remarkable how well the iPhone has done.

The three photos that follow were processed using Aperture software with only minimal updates to each photo - basic level settings and some brightening of the shadows. The first photograph was shot handheld using an old Leica M6 film camera using Fuji ISO 50 slide film scanned with a Nikon Coolscan IV ED. This is still my favourite camera despite the time needed to process films.

Holy Island

The second photo was taken with a Canon EOD40D fitted with a 50mm f1.4 lens and mounted on a tripod.

Holy Island

The final photo was taken with an iPhone 3GS using the built in camera application.

Holy Island

Photography


Previous post My attempt to explain the Curse of Hello! magazine Next post Pyramid on Holy Island