September 1, 2010

Adobe, Adobe, Adobe

I’ve just updated to Acrobat 9.0 at work and immediately hit my first problem with one of the new features, Portfolios. My perception is that Adobe software used to be absolutely brilliant but now it has problems with lousy installers, user interfaces gripes and updaters.

I was initially very impressed that Acrobat 9.0 allows a user to create a portfolio of linked PDF files, like a binder full of files. This can be used to print related emails to a single file or just to organise PDFs.

Unfortunately in my case portfolios created with Acrobat 9.3.1 can not be opened with Acrobat Reader 9.3.1 even on the same machine. Still, at least I’m not alone.

Adobia


Previous post Backup Madness Photo by Martin Deutsch I thought it was time I wrote about my obsession with backups. It’s the sort of madness you only get after a hard drive’s Next post Tell me, and I will forget “Tell me, and I will forget. Show me, and I may remember. Involve me, and I will understand.” — Confucius (around 450 BC)