November 10, 2013

I’ve taken my daughters to swimming lessons on a Friday afternoon for years now and it’s become a pleasant point in my routine as it marks the start of the weekend. It’s one of the bonuses of finishing work around mid-day each week that I get to spend more time with my girls. In all that time I’ve generally been the man there and I’ve got used to that. I enjoy meeting-up with the self-styled Slummy Mummies each week and having a natter.

At one point this week, as I was pool-side, a new swimming instructor passed me by and as she went by she smiled and said five little words — “drew the short straw then?”

I was puzzled by this for a moment and then realised what she meant. Her assumption was that I don’t normally do this and I must be reluctantly covering for a wife/partner who couldn’t be there that week. Let’s take a look at the meaning of the word prejudice’…

A preconceived opinion that is not based on reason or actual experience.


I think what annoys me here is the assumption that it’s a woman’s job to look after the kids or that in some way their company might be a chore.

Yours from a woman’s world,

Steve

Family


Previous post No Signal I’ve previously written about holidays in Landmark trust properties, but family holidays are not just about a place, they’re about time. Our Next post 2013 Festive Five Photo by David Denicolò Once again I’ve stolen the concept of a ‘Festive 5’ from a friend who has been compiling a list for some years now. The