November 28, 2018

The title of this post is a quotation from a podcast I was listening to this week. It triggered some reflection on the comforts associated with the rituals of a family Christmas. Our children rightly call us out as old-fashioned, but they are the also the first to insist that we follow all the rituals of Christmas in this house:

For me, a ritual is very different from a habit or a chore. There is something meaningful and perhaps ceremonial about a ritual, it doesn’t have to be religious but rituals tell a story and are performed with more awareness or mindfulness. My girls can’t explain why they like these things, but for them it marks Christmas day as special and heightens the experience.

Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to go and buy this year’s new ornament for the Christmas tree…


[1] This particular Santa” likes single-malt Scotch Whisky — ideally Springbank!

Family


Previous post New diary day! This is not a test. Please don’t ignore¹. Today was the day I started to use my 2019 diary and that got me thinking about the things I choose to Next post Three for November There was never any doubt over what I would choose as my book of the month for November. I have just finished reading Haruki Murakami’s Killing