April 29, 2017

Yesterday a couple of things happened that emphasised the power of music to move me.

When I was listening to music on shuffle at work in the afternoon Richard Thomson’s cover of Oops I Did It Again from the album 1000 Years of Popular Music came on. Whenever this song plays unexpectedly I can’t help grinning like a loon.

Later in the day I cam across a video of Frank Sinatra recording the song It Was a Very Good Year. There are no words to express how much I love this song and how long it’s been a part of my life. The very definition of old school cool.

Over on the big blog some thoughts on music, inspired by Britney (really), Richard Thompson and Sinatra.

music


Previous post The cup in my hand The Buddha told his student, ‘Every morning I drink from my favorite teacup. I hold it in my hands and feel the warmth of the cup from the hot Next post Montblanc 147 Traveller I have crossed the Rubicon twice with a new fountain pen I bought in the last couple of weeks and have been using frequently since then. I never