November 10, 2011

It’s not often that one gets to to read a new Sherlock Holmes novel so I eagerly anticipated the arrival of the new Anthony Horowitz Holmes story, commissioned by the Doyle family, The House of Silk.

I have read Sherlock Holmes stories since I was a young reader borrowing the books from Burntisland library and I re-read them regularly. Some years ago I actually created an e-book of the complete Sherlock Holmes canon to read on my Palm Pilot and then moved that from phone to phone until the arrival of the kindle.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s not a pastiche; Horowitz has captured the style of Arthur Conan Doyle very well but has created a plot that is ultimately very modern. There are no spoilers here, but I found the revelations about the House of Silk as gripping as a Victorian reader may have found The Speckled Band or The Cardboard Box.

Writing


Previous post Slide Film It’s not often that I have a chance to try a film that’s new to me but I recently bought some Kodak E100VS film - a film that Kodak claims provides Next post In the spotlight “If you’re in the spotlight, people are going to say bad things, and that’s just the way it is.” It’s now two years since I was first annoyed by