October 1, 2021

I have finally finished reading (with my ears) Return of a King: The Battle for Afghanistan, 1839-42 by William Dalrymple, a big book about the first Afghan war..

It was a very interesting book and I learned a lot that I did not know about the British Empire’s first attempt to invade Afghanistan. Britain tried to enforce a regime change but was forced to abandon Afghanistan after spending the equivalent of billions of pounds, losing thousands of lives and failing to change Afghanistan.

Sound familiar?

History


Previous post Poetry Please! I am currently ‘reading’ Hollie McNish’s new book of poetry ‘Slug’. I used my Audible subscription to read the book and I do still think of it as Next post Unexpected benefits... One unexpected benefit of my plan to list 52 things I’ve learned this year? When I find facts I find interesting I now check them out to make sure