January 2, 2017

Manton Reece is launching a new microblogging serviceand a book about independent microblogging.

The decision on whether to back this is a no-brainer for me. Since I started a blog I’ve changed how I manage it several times, moving from Tumblr to Scriptogr.am, through Dropplets to Pelican. There’s a trend in these moves; each time the format has become more open’, the source material has moved closer to home and maintaining my data has become easier.

In the last couple of years I have watched Twitter become more commercial and less social. I happily paid for an app.net account when they launched their alternative to Twitter and I’m equally happy to back an alternative service that aims to encourage easier micro-blogging using a more open architecture.

Internet


Previous post The Making of The Atomic Bomb This book (written by Richard Rhodes) was a colossal undertaking — 900 pages long and dense with references and end notes. One third of the way Next post Where is my data? I saw a post from Stephen Hackett a few days ago and found it very interesting. Stephen looks at where he currently has data stored and I thought it