March 3, 2019

The second post in my spark joy series of posts is an object that I would immediately replace with exactly the same thing, almost regardless of cost.

Kyotop Kitchen Knife

This is a Kyocera ceramic knife I bought in the last century, two house moves ago. After years of daily use it still sharpens as well as the day it was new and has only had to be sent away for sharpening twice. It is light, beautifully balanced and a joy to use.

I do worry about the fragility of a ceramic blade and it is slightly shorter than it used to be from falling in a sink point first. This knife epitomises what I am trying to record in this series; objects that still bring pleasure after years of service.

Spark


Previous post Spark joy Despite the challenge, I enjoyed last year’s self-imposed schedule of writing here more regularly about the books, movies and music I had Next post A Grand Pen Scoring Methodology A few days ago I read a post by Anthony on the UK Fountain Pens website about his methodology for scoring and rating his pen collection. I thought