October 26, 2015 Night Driving

Photo by Oli R

Each winter for the past few years I’ve noticed that more and more oncoming cyclists are cycling with high power LED lights at full beam. While it’s fantastic that lights with this level of brightness are available for a good price they completely blind oncoming cyclists, especially on dedicated cycle paths or canal tow paths. They’re really designed for true off-road cycling rather than the daily commute.

So, come on my fellow cyclists. If you’re cycling on a path with street lights, think about whether you need all that firepower. Turn it down a notch or two and dip your beams.

Status


Previous post Spurtle Two well-loved objects. These two spurtles were a thank-you gift from an anonymous patient when my wife worked in the Fort William casualty. They Next post Everyday Water Bottle I try to drink plenty of water. When I’m at work, in a stuffy office environment, it helps to keep me refreshed and (nearly as important) ensure I