December 30, 2018

Over the last few years I’ve been trying to create a list of all the books I’ve ever read to record my reading history. When my daughter recently asked me to choose between music and books, I ultimately had to give up books first because they are such an important part of my breathing space.

These are the 52 (generating a very satisfying average) books I read in 2018.

January 2018

The World of Yesterday by Stefan Zweig

Munich by Robert Harris

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

January-February 2018

The Gene: An Intimate History by Siddhartha Mukherjee

February 2018

Fictitious Dishes by Dinah Fried

Marvel 1602: 10th Anniversary Edition by Neil Gaiman (2013)

The Lighthouse by Paco Roca

Playing to The Gallery by Grayson Perry

The Killing of SS Oberhruppenführer Reinhard Heydrich by Callum MacDonald

Holga by Michael Kenna

The Optician of Lampedusa by Emma Jane Kirby

March 2018

Autism: A Very Short Introduction by Uta Frith (2008)

Public Library and other stories by Ali Smith

Frankenstein: The 1818 Text by Mary Shelley

A History of Pictures: From the Cave to the Computer Screen by David Hockney and Martin Gayford (2016)

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark (1963)

Triggers by Marshall Goldsmith

April 2018

Educated by Tara Westover

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell

May 2018

It Can’t Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

June 2018

October: The Story of the Russian Revolution by China Miéville

Selected Stories by Brian McCabe (2003)

Koya Bound: Eight Days on The Kumano Kodo by Craig Mod & Dan Rubin

July 2018

Grey Wolf by Mike Dunn

Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world by Mark Williams

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark (1963)

Epictetus: Discourses and Selected Writings

The Girls of Slender Means by Muriel Spark

August 2018

Lincoln in The Bardo by George Saunders

Fatty Batter: How cricket saved my life by Michael Simkins

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One by Philip Pullman

Rocket Men: The Daring Odyssey of Apollo 8 by Robert Kurson

Lullaby by Leïla Slimani

Ordinary Men: Reserve Police Battalion 101 and The Final Solution in Poland by Christopher R. Browning

The Hand by George Simenon

September 2018

Hag-seed by Margaret Atwood

How to be Brilliant by Nicholas Bate

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (2010)

Be Bold by Nicholas Bate

Creative Selection: Inside Apple’s design process during the golden age of Steve Jobs by Ken Kocienda

September-October 2018

Witch Wood by John Buchan

October 2018

X-Men: Black - Magneto (2018) #1

The Last Days of New Paris by China Miéville

The Painter of Signs by RK Narayan

October-November 2018

Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami (2018)

November 2018

Detour de France by Michael Simkins

Tombland (The Shardlake series Book 7) by C. J. Sansom

December 2018

Far Afield by Susanna Kaysen

Nemo: The Roses of Berlin by Alan Moore & Kevin O’Neill

An Improbable Friendship by Anthony David

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

The Landscape by Don McCullin

Apollo by Matt Fitch

Resident Alien Volume 6 (An Alien in New York) by Peter Hogan

Books


Previous post Three for December It’s over. Twelve months of selecting and listing my book, music and film of the month. I started this as a way to force myself write here more Next post Why I Do This I’ve had a blog for nearly ten years and, coincidentally, I was thinking about why I do this. I think I started out because it was ‘trendy’ to have