October 5, 2012

Looking over the photos that I consider to my best over the last few years I was struck by just how many were shot with film.

There are 27 photos I’ve rated with five stars in Adobe Lightroom or Aperture over the last 10 years.¹ Of these 15 were shot with film and 12 of those 15 were shot with my Leica rangefinder.

I don’t there’s any great meaning to this; it probably just underlines a preference that’s already there. Film isn’t any better or worse than digital but I take better photos when I have to slow down and think about the results I want.

That’s probably good advice regardless of what you use to take photos.

[1] I’m very picky!

Photography


Previous post Mystery Woman Today’s old photo is a bit of a mystery woman. Like most of my old photos this comes from my father’s photo album but there were no notes on this Next post Vindolanda Some years ago when we were on holiday in Northumberland we visited the Vindolanda Roman fort. It’s a fascinating site, where the archeologists are